How Much Does It Cost to Study in Türkiye?
Tuition runs US$1,600–2,400 per year at a public university or US$16,300–22,000 per year at a private one, plus TRY 12,000–35,000 per month to live. The catch is that the cheap places are the hard ones: fees are set university by university, and most admit on a TR-YÖS exam score.
The real cost of studying in Türkiye (summary)
Four charges land in your first year: tuition, living costs, health insurance and the residence permit. Foreign-national tuition at a public university is US$1,600–2,400 per year for a bachelor’s and US$750–2,000 per year for a master’s. A foundation (vakıf) university charges US$16,300–22,000 per year for a bachelor’s and US$8,000–20,000 per year for a master’s. Living costs are TRY 12,000–35,000 per month, depending on whether you get a dorm bed or rent a room. Private health insurance for the permit is TRY 4,800–5,800 per year, and the permit’s document fee for 2026 is TRY 964, with a separate duty on top that scales by nationality and by how long the permit runs. Tuition is quoted in US dollars but paid in lira at the prevailing rate, so what you owe in lira moves with the exchange rate even when the dollar price does not.
Tuition fees in Türkiye: public and private universities
Türkiye sets no national fee. Each university fixes its own foreign-national (“yabancı uyruklu”) rate and most quote it in dollars to protect its real value against the lira, then bill you in lira. There is no national semester or registration charge on top, unlike Germany: the headline figure is the full annual bill.
Public bands run US$1,600–2,400 per year for a bachelor’s and US$750–2,000 per year for a master’s, and the spread inside a single university is by faculty. Istanbul University charges US$500–6,500 per year across its faculties and a flat US$2,000 per year for graduate programmes. METU bills TRY 17,849–28,379 per semester, humanities at the low end and engineering at the high end, and TRY 9,976 per semester for any master’s. Boğaziçi is the outlier for graduates at US$300 per semester against US$4,000–5,000 per semester for its bachelor’s. Medicine at a public flagship is US$10,000 per year.
Foundation universities are a separate market. Bilkent charges US$18,400 per year and fixes your rate at your year of entry; Sabancı publishes US$36,500 per year before its merit waiver tiers; Koç bills in lira at TRY 2,180,000 per year. Istanbul Aydın is the cheapest private option in our dataset at US$5,000–8,000 per year, and Bahçeşehir spans US$8,500–24,000 per year depending on faculty.
Applying costs almost nothing — US$20 at Istanbul University, US$55 at METU, free at Bilkent — so the filter is the admission score, not the application fee. Fees per institution are on our Turkish universities page.
Living costs in Türkiye
No ministry or immigration authority publishes a minimum monthly living cost for Türkiye: there is no blocked account and no stated threshold, so the figures below come from university international offices rather than from the state.
METU’s international office puts Ankara at TRY 12,000–40,000 per month all in, updated June 2026: the low end is a campus dorm and economical habits, the middle a shared flat, the top solo living. Rent alone is TRY 4,000–60,000 per month — a public dorm room at the bottom, a private dorm or a share of a three-person flat at the top. National KYK state dorms are cheaper still, but places are scarce and competitively allocated, so do not build a budget on one.
Istanbul is the expensive choice at TRY 28,000–56,000 per month, with rent of TRY 1,000–19,400 per month depending on whether you get a state dorm bed or share a private flat. Our Istanbul figures blend an undated university page with a named private survey, so treat them as an estimate; the Ankara figures are the most current official ones we have.
Rent is the line that moves your budget, so choosing a city is really choosing a rent: the same degree costs materially more in Istanbul than in Ankara. The national band is TRY 12,000–35,000 per month.
Health insurance
Health cover is compulsory for the residence permit. Foreign students can register for state general health insurance (GSS) within their first three months of enrolment; miss that window and private insurance becomes mandatory instead. The GSS premium from January 2026 is TRY 1,981.80 per month, which is why most students take a private policy at TRY 4,800–5,800 per year. Private premiums are set by competing insurers above a minimum-coverage floor that the regulator raised on 1 April 2025, so there is no single official price and the quote you get is your own. Türkiye Bursları scholarship holders have their insurance covered by the scheme.
Proof of funds for the Türkiye student visa
There is no fixed sum. Neither the consulates nor the migration authority publish a statutory amount for the education-purpose visa or the student residence permit; sufficiency is judged case by case on the file you submit. The accepted mechanism is a Bank statement (own or sponsor/guarantor) or scholarship confirmation letter. One consulate’s own guidance asks for a financial guarantor’s letter plus the guarantor’s last three months of bank statements or salary slips, alongside your own account statement.
Insufficient or unverifiable proof of funds is the first refusal reason on the official list, so files fail on presentation more often than on the amount: unexplained deposits, a sponsor with no evidenced income, statements that stop short of three months. The residence-permit decision has a legal maximum of 13 weeks from a complete submission. Our Türkiye student visa requirements page lists the documents, and how to prove funds for a student visa explains what an officer reads for.
Cheapest universities and student cities
Istanbul University publishes the lowest bachelor’s floor in our dataset at US$500–6,500 per year, with graduate programmes flat at US$2,000 per year; it teaches 1 bachelor’s programme in English, so this is a Turkish-medium route. Ankara University runs US$1,800–10,150 per year, the low end being distance-education humanities, and lists 26 English-taught bachelor’s programmes. Hacettepe, also in Ankara, charges US$3,000–12,000 per year and is free to apply to. METU is TRY 17,849–28,379 per semester at #305 (QS 2027). For graduate study the cheapest place in the dataset is Boğaziçi at US$300 per semester, with 72 English-taught master’s programmes; ITU bills TRY 33,300 per year for master’s and doctoral study alike.
Over three or four years, Ankara at TRY 12,000–40,000 per month against Istanbul at TRY 28,000–56,000 per month is worth more than most fee differences between public universities. If your English score is the obstacle, read study in Türkiye without IELTS; to compare countries, see cheapest countries in Europe.
How to cover the costs
Türkiye Bursları, the government scholarship, is open to applicants from all nine of our origin countries. It covers tuition, accommodation and health insurance and pays a monthly stipend, and it is one national competition rather than a university award, so apply early and keep a funded alternative. Foundation universities are the other lever: Sabancı publishes merit waiver tiers against its US$36,500 per year headline fee, and Yeditepe publishes a scholarship and a success-based discount against US$16,000–73,000 per year. Ask what the fee is after the waiver before you compare offers.
Work is not a funding plan. A student residence permit confers no right to work on its own: a separate work permit from the Ministry of Labour is always required, bachelor’s students may only apply after completing their first year, and the weekly hour ceiling is not stated in the statute itself. For scale, the net minimum wage is TRY 28,075.50 per month. Scheme rules are on our Türkiye scholarships page.
Türkiye at a glance — key figures
| Public tuition — bachelor's (non-EU) | US$1,600–2,400 per year — METU (ODTU), foreign-national fee, 2023-24-entry cohort onward: USD800-1200/semester depending on faculty (Humanities/Econ&Admin/Education at the low end, Architecture&Engineering/Sciences at the high end) = USD1,600-2,400/yr. Istanbul University's parallel foreign-student TL schedule for the same c |
|---|---|
| Public tuition — master's (non-EU) | US$750–2,000 per year — METU: USD375/semester flat for all foreign-national graduate programmes = USD750/yr. Istanbul University's 2023-24-entry graduate cohort is quoted at TRY58,800/yr (~USD2,000 equivalent on the university's own table). |
| Private tuition (typical) | US$16,300–22,000 per year |
| Medicine | US$10,000 per year |
| Living costs | TRY 12,000–35,000 per month |
| Health insurance | TRY 1,981.80 per month |
Last verified 2026-09-10 against official sources (uluslararasi.yok.gov.tr · oidb.metu.edu.tr · iso.metu.edu.tr · w3.bilkent.edu.tr · cdn.istanbul.edu.tr).
What works in your favour
- Public tuition is low at both levels: US$1,600–2,400 per year for a bachelor’s and US$750–2,000 per year for a master’s, and Istanbul University lists US$500–6,500 per year.
- Applying is cheap enough to spread across several universities: US$20 at Istanbul University, US$55 at METU, free at Bilkent.
- The city decides more of your budget than the fee does: Ankara runs TRY 12,000–40,000 per month against TRY 28,000–56,000 per month in Istanbul.
- The permit side is small money: TRY 964 for the document and TRY 4,800–5,800 per year for the insurance it requires.
- Medicine sits inside a public budget at US$10,000 per year, and a bachelor’s graduate may stay 12 months on a short-term permit.
The honest downsides
- The lira works against your planning. Tuition is quoted in dollars and billed in lira, and living costs of TRY 12,000–35,000 per month reprice as prices rise, so a budget built in one September rarely survives to the next.
- The cheap fee is usually a Turkish-taught fee. Istanbul University lists 1 English-taught bachelor’s programme, while English-medium places cluster at foundation universities charging US$16,300–22,000 per year.
- There is no national portal and no national deadline. You track a separate June–July window at each university, and most want a TR-YÖS score, sat through ÖSYM.
- Nothing is published to aim at on funds, so an officer’s judgement decides, and unverifiable proof of support is the leading refusal reason.
- African students are a small minority. Of 336,366 international students in 2023/24, none of our nine countries reach the published top ten, so country networks on campus are thin.
Our core guidance is free, because universities pay us a commission when you enrol: shortlisting universities whose published fee you can actually pay, confirming the programme is taught in a language you have, planning the TR-YÖS or equivalent route, and vetting every document — transcripts, apostille, guarantor statements, insurance — before it is submitted. If you want us to build and run the whole application, our optional paid Premium Placement service does that. We never sell guaranteed admission or a guaranteed visa.
Frequently asked questions
At a public university, budget US$1,600–2,400 per year of tuition for a bachelor's and TRY 12,000–35,000 per month to live. Add private health insurance at TRY 4,800–5,800 per year and the residence-permit document fee of TRY 964, plus a duty scaled by nationality and permit length. A private university replaces the tuition line with US$16,300–22,000 per year.
No. Foreign-national students pay a fee set by each university, from US$1,600–2,400 per year at public institutions to US$16,300–22,000 per year at foundation ones. Türkiye Bursları covers tuition for the students it selects, but it is a competitive national scheme, not a default. Nobody is admitted free of charge simply for being an international applicant.
Plan on TRY 12,000–35,000 per month nationally. Ankara runs TRY 12,000–40,000 per month on METU's own 2026 estimate, from a campus dorm at the bottom to solo living at the top. Istanbul is TRY 28,000–56,000 per month. Rent is the variable that decides which end of the band you sit in.
No fixed sum is published at national level. Sufficiency is assessed case by case from a Bank statement (own or sponsor/guarantor) or scholarship confirmation letter, usually with a guarantor's letter and three months of their bank or salary records. Because there is no target figure, presentation matters: consistent, explained balances beat a single large deposit.
A private policy meeting the residence-permit requirement costs TRY 4,800–5,800 per year for the usual student age band. State GSS cover is the alternative at TRY 1,981.80 per month, and you can only join it within three months of enrolling. Premiums are set by individual insurers above a regulated minimum, so quotes vary.
Istanbul University starts at US$500–6,500 per year and Ankara University at US$1,800–10,150 per year for bachelor's study. For master's, Boğaziçi charges US$300 per semester and Istanbul University US$2,000 per year. The lowest fees are usually Turkish-medium programmes at public universities.
Only partly, and not from day one. A separate work permit from the Ministry of Labour is always required, and bachelor's students may apply only after completing the first year; master's and doctoral students have no waiting period. The statutory weekly ceiling is not stated in the law itself. The net minimum wage is TRY 28,075.50 per month.
Three things already in motion. The 2026 permit fee schedule raises the all-in cost of a one-year permit, with a document fee of TRY 964 plus a duration-based duty. The GSS premium rose to TRY 1,981.80 per month. And a YÖK circular of 2 August 2026 allows the post-graduation permit, currently 12 months, to be extended by a further year.