Skip to content

Study in Türkiye from Africa in 2027/28

Türkiye's public universities charge foreign nationals US$1,600–2,400 per year for a bachelor's and US$750–2,000 per year for a master's, on top of living costs of TRY 12,000–35,000 per month. The catch is entry: most universities want a TR-YÖS, SAT or A-Level score, and WASSCE, KCSE and NSC are accepted at only some of them.

Why study in Türkiye?

Türkiye’s appeal is price at scale. A public-university bachelor’s for a foreign national costs US$1,600–2,400 per year and a master’s US$750–2,000 per year, with no national registration charge on top — each university’s headline figure is the whole annual bill. Fees are set university by university rather than by national law, and are usually quoted in US dollars although you pay in lira, which protects the university against currency swings rather than you. The system is large: 208 recognised institutions and 336,366 international students in 2023/24, mostly from neighbouring countries. Somalia is the only African country in the published top ten.

Recognition is settled at both ends. Foreign degrees are recognised through YÖK’s denklik process, and every graduate of a Turkish university — bachelor’s, master’s or doctorate — can apply within six months of finishing for a residence permit worth 12 months in the country.

Two catches decide most cases. The first is teaching language: most public-university degrees are taught in Turkish, so a Turkish-medium offer means a preparatory language year before the degree starts. Fully English-taught study is real but concentrated — Boğaziçi, Bilkent and Koç teach entirely in English, and the private vakıf universities teach mainly in English at their own prices. The second is entry. There is no national application portal and no national deadline; each university admits on its own rules, and most want a TR-YÖS score — the international-student exam run twice a year by ÖSYM — or a SAT, A-Level or IB result rather than your school certificate alone.

How much does it cost to study in Türkiye?

Public universities are the cheap route. Foreign nationals pay US$1,600–2,400 per year for a bachelor’s and US$750–2,000 per year for a master’s, with medicine at a public flagship at US$10,000 per year. Private vakıf universities are a different market: US$16,300–22,000 per year for a bachelor’s and US$8,000–20,000 per year for a master’s, and private medical faculties sit well above the public figure. No separate semester or registration charge exists anywhere in the system, and application fees are small or nil — Istanbul University charges US$20, METU US$55, Bilkent free.

Living costs are paid in lira and move with it. The national band is TRY 12,000–35,000 per month. Ankara, where METU publishes the most detailed figures, runs TRY 12,000–40,000 per month, with accommodation from TRY 4,000–60,000 per month depending on whether you get a state dormitory place or share a flat. Istanbul is dearer, at TRY 28,000–56,000 per month. Health cover is compulsory: the state GSS premium is TRY 1,981.80 per month, while the private policy most students buy costs TRY 4,800–5,800 per year.

Budget a first year as two semesters of tuition in dollars, twelve months at TRY 12,000–35,000 per month and TRY 4,800–5,800 per year of insurance, before flights and permit costs. The residence-permit card carries a document fee of TRY 964 plus a separate duty scaled by your nationality and the length of the permit, which is not published as a single figure. The city-by-city breakdown is on our Türkiye cost of study page.

Universities in Türkiye

Türkiye has 208 recognised higher-education institutions in two groups. State universities are government-funded and charge the low foreign-national fee. Vakıf universities are private foundations — legally non-profit and supervised by YÖK, but priced like private institutions and usually teaching in English.

Six are worth knowing first. Middle East Technical University in Ankara is the strongest public engineering and computing school, at TRY 17,849–28,379 per semester, and it admits WASSCE, KCSE, NSC and Moroccan Baccalauréat holders directly against published grade thresholds. Boğaziçi in Istanbul teaches entirely in English — 34 bachelor’s and 72 master’s programmes — and its graduate fee of US$300 per semester is the cheapest serious master’s in the country. Istanbul Technical University is the other engineering school, ranked #279 (QS 2027). Istanbul University is the cheapest of the large publics at US$500–6,500 per year, but teaches almost entirely in Turkish. Bilkent in Ankara is private, entirely English-taught and charges one flat fee of US$18,400 per year. Bahçeşehir is the most straightforward private option for West African applicants, accepting WAEC and NECO results verified online, at US$8,500–24,000 per year.

Check the teaching language of the exact programme, not of the university: several run the same degree in Turkish and in English at different fees. Profiles of each institution are on our Turkish universities page, and the entry routes without a language test on studying in Türkiye without IELTS.

Student visa & proof of funds

Türkiye splits the process in two. You first obtain an education-purpose D-2 visa from the Turkish consulate in your own country, before you travel. After arrival you pre-apply online at e-ikamet.goc.gov.tr for the student residence permit — the öğrenci ikamet izni — and attend an appointment at the Provincial Directorate of Migration Management. The card carries a document fee of TRY 964 plus a nationality-scaled duty, and the authority has a legal maximum of 13 weeks to decide once your file is complete. Lodge it inside the validity of your entry visa.

Where you apply depends on your country. Nigerians use the embassy in Abuja or the visa office in Lagos; Ghanaians the embassy in Accra; Kenyans the embassy in Nairobi; Egyptians the MZ visa centres in Cairo and Alexandria; South Africans Pretoria or Cape Town; Ugandans the Turkish Route centre in Kampala; Zambians the embassy in Lusaka; Zimbabweans the AgentTR centre in Harare; Moroccans Rabat or Casablanca, where the student visa fee is waived.

There is no fixed sum to show. Funds are judged case by case on a guarantor’s letter with three months of the guarantor’s bank statements or salary slips, your own bank statement, or a scholarship award letter. Biometrics are taken and a medical is required; TB testing varies. Compulsory health insurance must be in place for the application. More in Türkiye student visa requirements and our proof of funds guide.

Working & staying after study

A student residence permit does not let you work. Employment always needs a separate work permit from the Ministry of Labour and Social Security, and undergraduates may only apply for one after completing their first year; master’s, doctoral and medical speciality students have no waiting period. Work is part-time only, and the exact weekly ceiling is not stated in the statute itself. For scale, the net statutory minimum wage is TRY 28,075.50 per month from January 2026.

After graduating you can apply, within six months, for the kısa dönem ikamet izni — a short-term residence permit worth 12 months, costing about TRY 27,751.60. It buys you time in the country, not the right to work: you still need an employer and a work permit. In August 2026 YÖK told universities the permit can be extended by a further year; the underlying circular is not public, so treat two years as announced rather than settled. Most jobs outside research and IT expect working Turkish.

Scholarships for African students

The national scheme is Türkiye Bursları, and applicants from all nine of our countries — Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Egypt, South Africa, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Morocco — are eligible. It is a full package: tuition, accommodation, health insurance, a monthly stipend and a Turkish language year. It is also heavily oversubscribed, and one application window a year decides everything, so plan it as a bonus rather than as your budget.

Erasmus Mundus joint master’s degrees are the second fully funded route, open to applicants from all nine countries, with some consortia teaching part of the degree at Turkish universities.

University money is smaller but more reliable. Sabancı publishes merit waiver tiers against its headline fee of US$36,500 per year, Yeditepe publishes both a scholarship and a success-based discount, and Medipol lists Morocco on its own country-scholarship list. The largest saving is structural: choosing a public university holds a master’s at US$750–2,000 per year before any scholarship exists. See Türkiye scholarships and the Erasmus Mundus guide.

Who Türkiye suits — and who it doesn’t

Türkiye suits a cost-driven applicant who is flexible about language. If you hold a WASSCE, KCSE, NSC or Moroccan Baccalauréat with strong grades, METU, Bilkent, Sabancı, Bahçeşehir and Yeditepe all publish thresholds you can check against your own results before you spend anything. It suits master’s applicants especially: a public-university master’s at US$750–2,000 per year is among the cheapest anywhere with English-taught options, and graduate students face no waiting period before applying for a work permit.

It suits you less if you need to work your way through the degree. Undergraduates cannot even apply for a work permit in their first year, and every job needs one. It is also a weak fit if your school certificate is your only credential and you cannot sit TR-YÖS, SAT or an A-Level, because several large universities — Hacettepe, Istanbul University, ITU and Koç among them — do not accept African school certificates on their own.

Türkiye at a glance — key figures

Key figures
Public tuition — bachelor's (non-EU) US$1,600–2,400 per year — METU (ODTU), foreign-national fee, 2023-24-entry cohort onward: USD800-1200/semester depending on faculty (Humanities/Econ&Admin/Education at the low end, Architecture&Engineering/Sciences at the high end) = USD1,600-2,400/yr. Istanbul University's parallel foreign-student TL schedule for the same c
Public tuition — master's (non-EU) US$750–2,000 per year — METU: USD375/semester flat for all foreign-national graduate programmes = USD750/yr. Istanbul University's 2023-24-entry graduate cohort is quoted at TRY58,800/yr (~USD2,000 equivalent on the university's own table).
Private tuition (typical) US$16,300–22,000 per year
Medicine US$10,000 per year
Living costs TRY 12,000–35,000 per month
Health insurance TRY 1,981.80 per month
Student visa Ogrenci ikamet izni (Student Residence Permit), obtained after entering Turkiye on an education-purpose (D-2) visa issued by a Turkish consulate abroad
Visa fee TRY 964 — Residence-permit document fee ('belge bedeli') for 2026 = TRY964 flat, per Goc Idaresi Baskanligi citing Official Gazette No.33117 (24 Dec 2025). A SEPARATE reciprocity-based residence-permit duty ('ikamet izni harci') also applies, scaled by nationality and by the permit's validity period (general/
Proof of funds No single fixed statutory sum found at national/immigration-authority level for a student visa or residence permit. Sufficiency of funds is assessed case-by-case via a financial guarantor's letter with the guarantor's last 3 months of bank statements/salary slips, the student's own bank statement, or a scholarship award letter, per the consulate's own visa-application guidance.
Processing time about 13 weeks
Where to apply Education-purpose (D-2) visa: Turkish consulate in the home country, before travel. Residence permit (ikamet): online pre-application via e-ikamet.goc.gov.tr after arrival, followed by an in-person appointment at the Provincial Directorate of Migration Management (Il Goc Idaresi Mudurlugu).
TB test Depends on nationality
Medical checks required
Work during study Part-time only, once eligible (Law No.6735, Art.19); the exact weekly-hour ceiling is not stated in the statute text itself and was not independently confirmed against a primary page this session (commonly cited elsewhere as up to 24h/week) · holidays: Not published: no holiday-specific carve-out distinct from the standing term-time rule (24 hrs/week for undergraduates from year 2; unrestricted, year-round, for graduate students) was found in the Official Gazette regulation amendment (2013-04-11) under Law No. 4817 or any university guide checked.
Minimum wage Net statutory minimum wage from 1 Jan 2026 (Ministry of Labour and Social Security / Asgari Ucret Tespit Komisyonu), a 27% rise on 2025; gross TRY33,300/month.
Post-study work Kisa donem ikamet izni (post-graduation short-term residence permit) for graduates of a Turkish higher-education institution, under Law No.6458: 12 months after graduation — A Turkish news outlet reported in Aug 2026 that YOK had communicated to universities that this permit can now be extended by a further year (up to 2 years total), citing a Directorate General of Migration Management/YOK circular dated end-July/early-Aug 2026;
Intakes September (Fall) - main intake, February (Spring) - some universities/programmes only
Application portal No single centralised national application portal. Each university runs its own international-student admissions process, commonly requiring a TR-YOS score (Turkiye's international-student admission exam, administered twice yearly by OSYM, the national testing body, in 6 languages) or an equivalent (SAT, A-Level, IB, etc.) for public and foundation universities. studyinturkiye.gov.tr is the government's information/guidance portal, not an application system.
English floor (IELTS) 6.50 (bachelor's) · 6.50 (master's)
Schengen No — Not in the EU or Schengen; separate Turkish student visa + residence permit (ikamet)

Last verified 2026-09-10 against official sources (uluslararasi.yok.gov.tr · oidb.metu.edu.tr · iso.metu.edu.tr · w3.bilkent.edu.tr · cdn.istanbul.edu.tr).

What works in your favour

  • The system is large and used to foreign students: 208 universities and 336,366 international students in 2023/24.
  • Public fees stay low at both levels — US$1,600–2,400 per year for a bachelor’s and US$750–2,000 per year for a master’s — with medicine quoted at US$10,000 per year.
  • Boğaziçi is the public exception on language, with 34 English-taught bachelor’s and 72 master’s programmes, and a master’s fee of US$300 per semester.
  • Ranked names sit inside a public budget: Istanbul Technical is #279 (QS 2027) and METU charges TRY 17,849–28,379 per semester.
  • Applying costs little — US$20, US$55, free — and a graduate may stay 12 months afterwards.

The honest downsides

  • Most teaching is in Turkish. An English-taught place usually means a private university at US$16,300–22,000 per year, or one of the few public exceptions.
  • Your school certificate may not be enough. WASSCE, KCSE and NSC are not named on the accepted lists at Hacettepe, Istanbul University, ITU or Koç, so you sit TR-YÖS or SAT first.
  • Your costs are split across two currencies. Tuition is quoted in dollars while living is paid in lira, at TRY 28,000–56,000 per month in Istanbul, and inflation moves the second faster than your budget.
  • Nothing is published on your odds. No Turkish authority publishes visa refusal rates by nationality, and no enrolment count exists for any of our nine countries.
  • The permit is slow and separate from the visa: up to 13 weeks for a decision after you have already arrived and enrolled.

Our core guidance is free: shortlisting universities against your certificate and your budget, telling you whether you need a TR-YÖS or SAT score, checking apostille and legalisation for your documents, and vetting the guarantor evidence before the consulate sees it. We are paid a commission by the universities we place students with. If you want us to run the whole application, Premium Placement is a paid option. We never sell guaranteed admission or a guaranteed visa.

Studying in Türkiye — explore

Study in Türkiye from your country

Latest on Türkiye from the blog

All posts

Türkiye Scholarships 2027

Applications for Türkiye Bursları 2027 are expected to open this month, following cycles that open each January and…

Top universities in Türkiye

See all

University profiles are being added. Meanwhile, ask us for a shortlist that fits your grades and budget.

Frequently asked questions

Public universities charge foreign nationals US$1,600–2,400 per year for a bachelor's and US$750–2,000 per year for a master's, with no separate registration fee. Add living costs of TRY 12,000–35,000 per month and health insurance of TRY 4,800–5,800 per year. Private universities are the expensive route, at US$16,300–22,000 per year.

No. Turkish citizens study free at state universities, but foreign nationals pay a separate fee set by each university, from US$1,600–2,400 per year at a public institution. The only route to a genuinely free place is a scholarship — Türkiye Bursları or an Erasmus Mundus master's — and both are competitive rather than automatic.

Yes, but choose the programme carefully. Boğaziçi, Bilkent and Koç teach entirely in English, and most private universities teach mainly in English. At other public universities English-taught degrees are a minority, and the rest require a Turkish preparatory year first. Istanbul University, for example, runs 1 English-taught bachelor's programme.

There is no fixed statutory sum. The consulate judges each file on a financial guarantor's letter with three months of the guarantor's bank statements or salary slips, your own bank statement, or a scholarship award letter. Insufficient or unverifiable funds is the most common refusal reason, so document where the money comes from as well as the balance.

Only with a separate work permit from the Ministry of Labour and Social Security — the student residence permit alone carries no right to work. Undergraduates can apply only after completing their first year, while master's and doctoral students can apply immediately. Work is part-time. The net statutory minimum wage is TRY 28,075.50 per month.

Yes. Apply within six months of graduating for the kısa dönem ikamet izni, a short-term residence permit granting 12 months, at a cost of about TRY 27,751.60. It is the same twelve months after a bachelor's, a master's or a doctorate. It carries no work rights, so you still need an employer-sponsored work permit.

Türkiye Bursları is the national scheme, and applicants from all nine of our countries are eligible. It covers tuition, accommodation, insurance and a monthly stipend, plus a Turkish language year, and it is heavily oversubscribed. Erasmus Mundus funds joint master's degrees and is also open to all nine. University merit waivers are smaller but easier to win.

The post-graduation residence permit is being extended. A YÖK circular dated 2 August 2026 told universities that the twelve-month permit can be extended by a further year, up to two years in total, following a migration-authority legal opinion. No consolidated public regulation has appeared yet, so plan on 12 months and treat the second year as likely rather than certain.

Free consultation